Hydraulic Institute Chooses Board of Directors, Awards Industry Leaders

September 30, 2009—

During the Hydraulic Institute's (HI) 92nd Annual Meeting in Marco Island, FL, the 2009 Board of Directors and Officers were elected, and the pump industry resource organization also handed out several individual awards.

Bill Waltz, president of the flow technologies division of Pentair Water, is the HI chairman, and he received the President's Award for his effort and leadership as 2008 board president.

Dennis Ziegler, president and CEO of GIW Industries, is now president of HI. He was awarded the Vice President's Award for his prior work as the association's vice president of member services.

Steve Oswald, president of the industrial division of Hamilton Sundstrand Corp., took over as vice president of member services, and Ken Napolitano, president of ITT Industrial Process, serves as the vice president of knowledge and education.

Dave McKinstry, vice president of IMO Pump, was re-elected as HI's vice president of technical affairs until 2010, and he was honored with the institute's Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his longstanding contributions to the institute, technical involvement and leadership in the organization.

"Dave is an international ambassador for HI, working with Europump and ISO," says Robert Asdal, executive director of HI. "He is widely regarded and respected for his domestic and international knowledge of pump companies, the pump industry and their associated standards. He bridges the gap between standards development, technical/business strategy and executive leadership."